Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



When cicadas cry / Caroline Cleveland.

Summary:
"In this stunning debut by a South Carolina attorney, Zach Stander, a lawyer with a past, and Addie Stone, his indomitable detective and lover, find themselves entangled in secrets, lies, and murder in a small Southern town. A high-profile murder case - A white woman has been bludgeoned to death with an altar cross in a rural church on Cicada Road in Walterboro, South Carolina. Sam Jenkins, a Black man, is found covered in blood, kneeling over the body. In a state already roiling with racial tenson, this is not only a murder case, but a powder keg. A haunting cold case - Two young women are murdered on quiet Edisto Beach, an hour southeast of Walterboro, and the killer disappears without a trace. Thirty-four years later the mystery remains unsolved. Could there be a connection to Stander's case? A killer who's watching - Stander takes on Jenkins's defense, but he's up against a formidable solicitor with powerful allies. Worse, his client is hiding a bombshell secret. When Addie Stone reopens the cold case, she discovers more long-buried secrets in this small town. Would someone kill again to keep them? Ideal for fans of mystery, suspense, and thrillers in the vein of Karin Slaughter's Pretty Girls and Stacy Willingham's A Flicker in the Dark, as well as for readers who followed the high-profile Murdaugh murder trial, held in the same small town as in When Cicadas Cry"-- Provided by publisher.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781454952312
  • ISBN: 1454952318
  • Physical Description: 324 pages ; 21 cm
  • Publisher: New York : Union Square & Co., [2024]
Subject: Cold cases (Criminal investigation) > Fiction.
South Carolina > Fiction.
Murder > Investigation > Fiction.
Genre: Detective and mystery fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Novels.

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Blair County Library System. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Tyrone-Snyder Public Library.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 1 total copy.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Tyrone-Snyder Public Library F Clev (Text) 1OTYR000546304 Adult Fiction New Book Available -


Additional Resources